DUCK SHOOTERS' GUIDE 1962/63

OPENING:

The 1962 season will open -

- (a) at 6 p.m. in the evening of Saturday, December 22, in the Shires of Augusta-Margaret River, Balingup, Bridgetown, Busselton, Capel, Collie, Dardanup, Greenbushes, Harvey, Manjimup, Nannup and Preston;
- (b) at 5 a.m. in the morning of Sunday, December 23, in the remainder of the South-West and Eucla Land Divisions, not included in the Shires named.

SPECIES INCLUDED IN THE OPEN SEASON:

Whistling Tree-Duck (Dendrocygna arcuata) Plumed Tree-Duck (Dendrocygna eytoni) Mountain Duck (Tadorna tadornoides) Black Duck (Anas superciliosa) Chestnut Teal (Anas castanea) Grey Teal (Anas gibberifrons) Blue-winged Shoveler (Anas rhynchotis) Pink-eared Duck (Malacorhynchus membranaceus) Freckled Duck (Stictonetta naevosa) White-eyed Duck (Aythya australis) Blue-billed Duck (Oxyura australis) Musk Duck (Biziura lobata) White-headed Shelduck (Tadorna radjah) Wood Duck or Maned Goose (Chenonetta jubata) Pied or Magpie Goose (Anseranas semipalmata) Green Pygmy Goose (Nettapus pulchellus)

PROTECTED SPECIES:

The Cape Barren Goose, the Black Swan and the White Swan are the only members of the family of ducks and geese which are not included in the open season. They are fully protected at all times. The Cape Barren Goose normally occurs in this State but only on the islands of the Recherche Archipelago, a sanctuary for fauna, where all shooting is prohibited.

BAG LIMIT:

15 ducks per person per day.

ILLEGAL MEANS OF CAPTURE:

This season, the only legal method of taking wild ducks will be by the use of a shotgun. All other means of capture,

whatsoever, are illegal. Spotlights are an illegal aid to duck-shooting and will be seized.

CLOSE AREAS:

Duck shooting is prohibited in all the following areas which have been set aside as refuges.

GENERAL AREAS:-

- (a) All municipalities and townsites in the South-West Land Division.
- (b) All State Forests, timber reserves, town reservoirs and other areas where shooting is prohibited under the provisions of any other Act, regulation or bylaw.
- (c) The whole of the area within a radius of 20 miles of the General Post Office, Perth.
- (d) The whole of the Rockingham Shire.

SPECIFIC AREAS:-

Albany Shire -

- (e) The whole of the waters of Lake Seppings and all land within 20 chains of its shores.
- (f) The whole of the waters of Nannerup (or Taylor) Inlet and all the land within 20 chains of its shores.
- (g) The whole of the waters of the King and Kalgan Rivers and all land within 20 chains of their banks.
- (h) The whole of the waters of Oyster and Princess Royal Harbours and all land within 20 chains of their shores.

Balingup Shire -

(i) The whole of the area within a radius of one and one-half miles from the Post Office at Balingup.

Busselton Shire -

- (j) The whole of the waters of Vasse and Wonnerup Estuaries and all land within 20 chains of their shores.
- (k) The whole of the waters of the Vasse River and all land within 20 chains of its banks.
- (1) The whole of reserves 3872 and 3876 (Public Utilities) in the Broadwater.

Capel Shire -

(m) All that portion of the Capel River between the Capel and Stirling bridges and all land within 20 chains of the river's bank.

Dandaragan Shire -

(n) The whole of Caro Swamp and all land within 80 chains of its shores.

Dumbleyung Shire -

(o) All that portion of the Coblinine River downstream from the eastern side of the bridge at the junction of road 3375 and road 323 (Oxley Road) to its mouth at the high-water mark of Dumbleyung Lake and all land within 20 chains of that part of the river's banks.

Gingin Shire -

- (p) The whole of the waters of Lakes Nambung, Bambun and Mungala and all land within 20 chains of their shores.
- (q) The whole of Swan Location 2340 including Wallering Swamp.

Harvey Shire -

- (r) All those waters of the Leschenault Inlet extending southwards from a line drawn south-east from Waterloo Head (Belvedere), on the west foreshore to a point on the opposite foreshore and all land within 20 chains of the included foreshores.
- (s) The whole of the Harvey Catchment area.

Mandurah Shire -

(t) The whole of the area within a radius of 2 miles of the Post Office at Mandurah.

Mundaring Shire -

(u) The whole of the waters of Lake Leschenaultia and all the land within 20 chains of its shores.

Murray Shire -

(v) All that portion of the Serpentine River from road 8629 at the southern end of Goegrup (Willies) Lake to Peel Inlet near the Old Mill and all the land within 20 chains of the river banks.

Rockingham Shire -

(w) The whole of the shire of Rockingham.

Toodyay Shire -

- (x) All that portion of the Avon River in the Toodyay District, between the northern boundary of Avon Location 3 and a point opposite road number 2069, and all land within 20 chains of the river banks.
- (y) All that portion of the Avon River from Dumbarton Bridge to the Railway Bridge, north of Toodyay and all land within 20 chains of the river banks.

Upper Blackwood Shire -

(z) The whole of the area within a radius of 2 miles of the Post Office at Boyup Brook.

Wanneroo Shire -

(aa) The whole of the Yanchep Caves Reserve.

Wickepin Shire -

(ab) The whole of the waters of Lake Yealering and all land within 20 chains of its shores.

Woodanilling Shire -

(ac) The whole of the waters of Wardering Lake and all land within 20 chains of its shores.

DATE OF CLOSURE:

The season will close throughout the whole of the Eucla and South-West Land Divisions at midnight on April 30, 1963, unless otherwise proclaimed.

GENERAL:

- (a) Wild ducks are not to be kept in captivity except under special license;
- (b) The sale of wild ducks is forbidden;
- (c) A person shall not drive any bird over shooters by means of motor vehicles, aircraft, power boat or other means;
- (d) A person shall not take more than fifteen wild ducks on any one day.